PNR Status Check the PNR Status of your train ticket. The PNR status lets you know the current status of your ticket booking.

Enter PNR Number

To check your reservation status enter the 10 digit PNR Number in the text box below and click the 'Get PNR Status' button.

FAQs about PNR

What is PNR?

PNR stands for Passenger Name Record. PNR is a travel record of an individual or a group of individuals, maintained in CRS (Central Reservation System) database.

When a booking for a reserved ticket for a train is made in Indian Railways, journey details like passenger's name, gender, age, train number, journey class, berth preference, contact link, etc get stored in the database of the centralized reservation system. These details are associated with a unique reference number called the Passenger Name Record or PNR.

When we make a booking and we get a confirmed reserved ticket, generally we don't bother about the PNR since the ticket is confirmed and we already know the coach and seat number allotted to us.

However, in case of a waitlisted ticket, the journey is not confirmed yet. As an when cancellations are made, the status of the waitlist ticket changes. And finally due to further cancellations when seat becomes available, the status of waitlist ticket changes to a confirmed ticket. A traveller can monitor the status of his/her waitlist ticket and know if it has been confirmed.

Where can I find the PNR number on the ticket?

PNR number is usually printed on the top left corner of the printed tickets (tickets that are purchased from railway station booking window).

Train PNR Status Check

For tickets booked online (E-tickets) the PNR is displayed on the top of displayed ticket. Usually, IRCTC sends you an SMS giving details of your booking including the PNR number.

How to check PNR Status

1. Check PNR Status through online websites

This is one of the most common and preferred way to check your ticket PNR status. There are several unofficial websites where you can check the status of your PNR. You can check your PNR Status from one of the following links.


    Though not an official website, you can very easily and quickly check your PNR here. Besides PNR enquiry, this site provides several other information like, Live Status of Trains, Train Routs and Schedules, Trains Between Stations, List of Cancelled Trains, List of Rescheduled Trains and more.

  • This is official website ofIndian Railways. The site is designed and maintained by CRIS (Centre for Railway Information Systems).

2. Check PNR Status through SMS

While checking the reservation status online is the most popular way, you need an internet connection to do that. In case there is no internet connect you can still check your reservation status using SMS

  • 1. 139 SMS Service by IRCTC

    Type 'PNR' leave a space and type your PNR number.

    PNR <your pnr number>. For example: PNR 1234567890

    Send the above messge to 139

  • 2. 5676747 SMS Service by railZone

    Type 'PNR' leave a space and type your PNR number.

    PNR <your pnr number>. For example: PNR 1234567890

    Send the above messge to 5676747

Understanding your Waiting List Ticket

On your waiting list ticket, there are two numbers. They tell you the position at which you joined the waitlist and your current position – in this order. Here is an example:

You are booking a ticket online (Indian Railway, IRCTC, etc…). You find the train and class/seat/berth that you want along with the date and time. At the end of the reservation, you buy a ticket with WL5/WL2.

In this example you joined the WL at position 5, but by the time you actually bought the ticket online you moved to position 2 (due either to a cancellation or to someone not making a final booking). The first number will stay the same – it indicates when you JOINED the queue. The second number will decrease until you get a ticket (hopefully).

Your railway reservation could look like:

  • WL 5/WL 2 (this is your starting position)
  • WL 5/WL 1
  • WL 5/RAC 3
  • WL 5/RAC 2
  • WL 5/RAC 1
  • WL 5/CNF

WL 5/WL 2 = Waitlist ticket: you cannot board the train.

WL 5/RAC 3 = RAC ticket: you are allowed to board the train, but you may end up on a seat instead of a berth.

WL 5/CNF = Confirmed ticket: you can board the train and you have a berth to yourself.